PLDR Award Nominations

PLDR Award Nominations

The PLDC convention concludes with a grand Gala Evening at which the Professional Lighting Design Recognition Awards will be presented. The aim of the awards is to recognise those individuals, practices, institutions or manufacturers who have most contributed in their work, actions and deeds to the advancement of the field of Architectural Lighting Design.

The PLDC Recognition Awards format is not based on submitted entries. A Call for Nominations was issued by the PLDC team. All nominations were discussed and the shortlists for the respective Awards put together by a jury comprising experienced professionals from the international lighting design community.


1.  Award for the Best Newcomer

The intent is to recognise a designer who is new to the scene and whose recently completed work deserves to be recognised for its innovative or state-of-the-art lighting design within complex projects.

Shortlisted for “Best Newcomer”:

Anuj Gala

Anuj Gala/IN/FI for his diverse skills and conceptual way of thinking, his interest in technology combined with design to enrich user-populated spaces, and the confidence he demonstrates in his lighting design and detailing for projects.

Carlijn Timmermans/NL for her creative visions and concepts, her active design and research work, and the dedication and responsibility she assumes as a member of the lighting design community.

Tobias Olsson/SE for his understanding of teamwork while handling projects from conceptual phase to project leader, and his visionary approach to user-related design.

2. Award for Best Partner in the Industry

The intent is to recognise a manufacturing company who have proven their appreciation and solidarity with the Architectural Lighting Design profession and demonstrated their understanding of the Lighting Designer as a crucial link in the value chain leading to a successful architectural lighting project.

Shortlisted for “Best Partner in the Industry”:

iGuzzini/IT for funding and supporting Dr. Elettra Bordonaro’s Visiting Research Fellowship in the LSE Sociology Department for her work in the field of social research through a series of lighting workshops across the globe.

LED Linear/DE for funding education and specifically an endowed professorship at the University of Wismar.

3. Award for Research

The intent is to recognise the individual / institution that has made a significant impact on the field of Architectural Lighting Design either through his/her/its general research programme or through a specific research topic.

Shortlisted for “Research”:

Prof. Dr. Carlo Ratti, MIT Boston/US for his future-oriented research on real-time cities. Through design and science, the Lab develops and deploys tools to learn about cities.

Configuring Light/Staging the Social/UK for their work on exploring and building expertise in social research in lighting design by working with students, professionals and community groups in intensive workshops that engage participants in both researching and designing for real public realm spaces.

Prof. Werner Osterhaus/DE/DK for his untiring dedication to the importance of (day)lighting research and communicating research findings through various channels.

4. Award for Education

The intent is to recognise the individual / institution that has made a significant impact in the field of Architectural Lighting Design through the installation and execution of an education programme or education initiatives to raise the quality of education and/or further the recognition of qualified professionals.

Shortlisted for “Education”:

Berry van Egten/NL for his active work in education. Berry has been working in lighting design for over 25 years now and he has been active in education for 15 years.

Dr. Karolina M. Zielinska-Dabkowska/PL/CH for her mentoring activities and her dedication to her students.

Stuart Green/UK for his effort and actions to enable practising lighting designers to gain an academic qualification to help gain recognition for Lighting Design as a profession.

Aalborg University, Copenhagen/DK for their transdisciplinary Master’s programme in Lighting Design at Aalborg University in Copenhagen, which draws on knowledge and skills in architecture, lighting engineering and media technology.

ITMO University, St. Petersburg/RU for the ground-breaking work that is being done at ITMO University in St. Petersburg in the field of Lighting Design.

5. Award for Daylighting Project

The intent is to recognise the designer/s of a project in which daylighting has specifically been successfully designed as an integral part of the architecture and has contributed to the definition of space, character, mood and sustainability of the project.

Shortlisted for “Best Daylighting Project”:

Frederiksbjerg School, Aarhus/DK
Architects: Henning Larsen Architects/DK

The State Parliament of Baden-Württemberg/DE
Lighting design: LichtKunstLicht/DE
Architects: Staab Architeken
Photos: Marcus Ebener

The L.A. Courthouse/US
Architects: Skidmore, Owings and Merrill
Photos: SOM

6. Award for Best New Project

The intent is to recognise the designer/s of an architectural lighting design project, the quality of which is outstanding and worthy to be recognised as a project that truly demonstrates the importance of designed light for the success of the entire project.

Shortlisted for “Best New Project”:

Harbin Opera House/RC
Interior Lighting design: Beijing United Artists Lighting Design
Architects: MAD Architects
Photos: Hufton+Crow

Facade Lighting of the Kunstmuseum Basel/CH
Lighting: Iart AG/CH
Architects: Christ & Gantenbein
Photos: Derek Li Wan Po

Andronikos Hotel on Mykonos/GR
Lighting design: KLab Architecture/GR
Photos: Akis Paraskevopopoulos

The Garden of Versailles in Paris/FR
Lighting design: Les Eclairagistes Associés/FR
Photos: LEA-©Xavier Boymond

Gasholder Park in London/UK
Lighting design: Speirs + Major/UK
Architect: Bell Phillips Architects
Landscape Architect (planting): Dan Pearson Studio
Landscape Architect: Townshend Landscape Architects
Engineer: Arup
Engineer: Hoare Lea
Photos: James Newton

7. Award at Large

The intent is to recognise a person or an entity that does not necessarily fit into any of the above categories but who/which has made a significant contribution to the viability of the profession and/or to its development and/or to its official recognition.

Shortlisted for the “Award at Large”

LightAware for their effort to raise awareness of the impact of artificial lighting on human health and well-being, and encourage discussion and investigation into the same with the goal of making the lives of those who suffer from light sensitivity more normal.

Montreal for opting to replace 132,000 streetlights with 3000K LED lights, which give off a warmer hue than the 4000K ones they originally planned to install, in response to protests and concerns about health hazards and light pollution.

8. Award for Lifetime Achievement

The intent is to recognise a person whose activities and efforts have been instrumental in helping bring the profession of Architectural Lighting Design to its current standing. The first recipient of this award, at PLDC 2007, in London was Prof. Dr. Heinrich Kramer. In 2009 the award was presented to William Lam, and Jonathan Speirs received the award in 2011. At PLDC 2013, the Award for Lifetime Achievement was presented to Christopher Cuttle, and in 2015 to Motoko Ishii.

There are no nominees shortlisted for this Award – the winner will be announced at the Gala Dinner on 4. November, 2017 in Paris.